



# New Zealand Deer Industry Award Nomination Form 2021

Nominator details: (who and what they represent)

Nominee details (individual, group, entity)

Duration of nominee's contribution to the deer industry

Details of the scale of their contribution across the whole industry

Commentary on the extent to which the nominee has made a real difference to the deer industry

Commentary on the extent to which the nominee has demonstrated leadership by example in an aspect of the deer industry

Supporting references – (these can be included by the nominator to support the nomination and can be attached to this form)			
1.			
2.			
3.			
4.			
5.			

Nomination form and supporting material should be emailed or posted to:

Terry Brosnahan Editor, CountryWide at terry.brosnahan@nzfarmlife.co.nz

Postal address: CountryWide, Deer Industry Award Nomination, PO Box 529, Feilding

Nominations close on May 9 2021

### APPENDIX NZ Deer Industry Award Roll of honour

Year	Recipient(s)	Feature
1985	Harry & Anne Van Hoppe	National fielddays Deer feature and industry promotion
1986	John Burrowes	DFA president Services to industry, Government negotiation and advocacy
1987	Dr Noel Beatson	Tb Research and diagnosis
1988	lan Spiers*	DFA President. Services to DFA, communication s
1989	The Deer Farmer magazine	Industry promotion & publicity
1990	Prof Frank Griffin	Tb Diagnostics
1991	Tom Williams	GIB Chairman, industry leadership
1992	Jeff Pearse	Tb accreditation programme
1993	Canterbury Branch	World Deer Congress
1994	Sir Peter Elworthy* & Sir Tim Wallis (jointly)	Industry Founding fathers
1995	Dr Ken Drew	Deer Research
1996	Richard Janes	GIB CEO, Cervena programme
1997	Clive Jermy	DFA President, Industry leadership
1998	Graham Brown	GIB Executive Chef
1999	Bob Bennett	GIB & Services to velvet industry
	Andrew Duncan	Venison industry services
2000	Tony Pearse	Research and Tech Transfer
	John Spiers	DFA President and DFA services
2001	SCNO Branch DFA	Deer Master project
2002	Dr Ian Walker	Veterinarian services
2003	Dr Jimmy Suttie	Research especially velvet antler
2004	Dr Ian Scott	Veterinarian services and NVSB
2005	Dr Dave Lawrence	Veterinarian services Tech Transfer
2006	Keith Orange	Transport industry QA & DFA
2007	Southland Branch NZDFA	National velvet competition
2008	Trevor Walton and Angie Fussell	Communications & leadership
2009	Hub Hall	Hard antler judging and DFA service
2010	Colin Mackintosh	Veterinary research in deer health
2011	Mandy Bell and Adrian Campbell	Johne's disease extension and JRG
2012	Keith and Denise Hood. <i>Mt Hutt Station</i>	Deer farming excellence and contribution

2013	NZ Fallow Deer Society	Breed society promotion and initiatives
2014	Paddy Boyd, Haldon Station	Tb free NZ, NVSB, services to deer farming and industry
2015	David Stevens, <i>Netherdale</i>	Services to DFA, Environment and education & training
2016	Murray Matuschka	Services to DFA, industry promotion, tourism, related art works, recognition of DFA quiet achievers.
	Mark Mitchell, Broadleaf Game	
2017	Dale Beier <i>Dales</i> Exotic Meat & Game	Promotion and premium positioning of NZ Venison in North America and product development and innovation( Denver leg)
	Rich Flocchini Sierra Meats Venison & Game	
2018	Andy Macfarlane	DINZ Board leadership. Evolution and impact of the industry Primary Growth partrnership programme "Passion to profit" P2P
2019	Dr Geoff Asher Agresearch Invermay	40 years of service in research extension and commitment to deer industry knowledge and excellence in deer husbandry, reproductive performance in AI and ET , fallow deer farming and the deer industry progeny test
2020		Not Held ( due to Covid19 disruption)
2021		

#### DEER INDUSTRY AWARD RULES AND QUALIFYING CRITERIA

## NZ DEER INDUSTRY AWARD

#### Conditions

- 1. The Award is known as the *NZ Deer Industry Award of the Year*.
- 2. The Award is to be presented each year to the person, persons jointly, or organisation who, in the opinion of the judges, has made the most outstanding contribution to the New Zealand deer industry, either in the previous year, or over a period of years.

If the contribution has been made over a period of years, the nominee must have been actively involved in the industry in the previous year and must not be a previous recipient of the Award.

- 3. Candidates for the award may be nominated by any person or organisation, except the judges.
- 4. The publisher of *The Deer Farmer* (Country wide via NZ Farmlife Media, formerly NZXAgri) is responsible for administering and promoting the Award.
- 5. The selection panel is made up of three judges who are the nominees of the following organisations:
  - a. NZ Farmlife Media
  - b. The NZ Deer Farmers' Association (Inc)
  - c. Porter Holdings Ltd

The judges may not be employees or directors of the above organisations, nor -- in the case of the nominee of the NZDFA -- hold elected national office in the association.

6. Porter Holdings Ltd has donated a perpetual trophy (a stag sculpture, mounted on Italian marble and inset on a mahogany base) and each year donates a stag miniature for the winner. NZFarmlife Media is responsible for obtaining an engraved gold plaque, bearing the name of the recipient, for each miniature.

The NZDFA is responsible for the custody & care of the perpetual trophy, for displaying it at the annual presentation ceremony, and for arranging for a newly engraved plaque bearing the name of each recipient and the year to be affixed to the base of the trophy.

Beneficial ownership of the perpetual trophy is vested in the NZDFA which normally keeps it on display in its national office.

7. Presentation of the Award is made annually at the NZDFA Annual Conference dinner or, if this is not possible, at another function as determined by the NZDFA, after consulting with NZ Farmlife Media